What’s your life span on entertainment?

Category - Challange

Most or all people I know love to be entertained. There are a lot of different way’s to be entertained, but the one that’s most used in our time is videos. So, how much do you watch videos? And with videos I include movies and TV-series. A couple of hours a month? a week? a day? Well, only you know what you watch, you don’t expect me to give you an answer. Personally I rarely watch the TV. Why should I? I got my computer. When it comes to the amount… Well I guess about 2 to 10 hours a day – it really depends on what’s going on and if I’m working on some project or not.

Let’s say that you watch 3 hours a day – that’s not much you say. I mean, It’s only a movie and an about one 40 minutes long episode. Not much at all. But in one week, how much is it? Well, 3*7 = 21 hours – that’s almost a day! And in a month? 3*30 = 90 hours – which is about 4 days. Not such a scary number now is it? But how about adding together the numbers of your whole life?

time-flies[1]

If you thought I was going to do it for you, well, then you’re about to get disappointed. I will however use myself and my numbers as an example – the numbers are of cause unsure – it’s not like I’ve kept records of every time I watched “Peter Pan” as I grew up, but I do know of the TV shows and such I’ve been watching – which can be a guide in this situation.

Before we start with the numbers I want to divide it into group. Yeah, sure the number we’re after is the number of hours combined, but why not see how they are divided too while we’re at it.

First off we’ll start with the TV-shows:

2 months, 3 weeks, 0 days, 17 hours, and 32 minutes

Next are the anime series I’ve seen. Why not include them in the TV-shows? Well, again because it’s interesting to see – and also because I like to take small breaks in the adding.

3 months, 1 week, 1 day, 4 hours, and 13 minutes

Movies should have been next, but this is a very unsure category, I mean, how am I to remember all I’ve seen since I was little? So, well, I guess I’ll drop it.

Actually, in my case I would have wanted to add the number of hours used to listen to audio books too – I kinda grew up with 15 hours a week or so. In a year that would mean 780 hours, and if we exclude my first 6 years, the number of hours are 11.700 – which is a little more than:

1 year and 4 months

Added up to the other numbers, my lifetime is now:

1 year, 9 months, 4 week, 1 day, 21 hours, and 45 minutes.

So, how did I find these numbers? Well, I didn’t sit here adding them together all by myself – that would have taken way too long. What I did was to search and plot in the series I’ve seen here, and then I made sure it displaced the right amount of seasons – and then I just let it count.

Why not try it yourself?
http://tiii.me/

And for anime, try to use:
anime-planet.com

So, after seeing these numbers, what do you feel? Are you starting to add up your own? How does the answer make you feel? Is the number of hours less or greater than you thought?

Personally I don’t feel scared or anything like that. Yes, if the time had been used to something that was good for nothing, well, that would be something, but I feel that when you enjoy something and think of it with a smile on your mouth – that’s time well spent.

– WinnifredArtemis

Leave a Reply

