FangirlSays – All you need to know about – Shipping, OTP and OTPW

“They are my OTP!“ Yes, we have all seen this happening in a video, on a photo, on a forum or maybe even in real life. Who knows, maybe you yourself have had such a moment? Well, whether this is new or old information to you, I’ve taken some time to give a brief explanation of the phenomenon around shipping and OTP, and I’ve also included one of my own ideas for the shipping process. All the definitions have examples, and I have tried to include a big variety of fandoms. I hope you’ll like it, and if you have questions, comments or something to add – you know how to use the comment section below.

Shipping:

So a lot of people – mainly fangirls – are obsessed with shipping. For those that are new to this term; ‘shipping’ means to support a romantic relationship between two (or maybe more) characters. It usually follows logic, but there are also those that have little or even none logic behind them and these are often referred to as ‘crack ships’. Examples on this are if the two characters have never met or heard of each other – like Craster and Melisandre from ‘Game of Thrones’, or that they belong to two entirely different fandoms – like Gandalf (Lord of the Rings) and Maleficent (Disney’s Sleeping Beauty).

OTP:

As you probably have understood; OTP is a part of shipping. Not only a part actually, but the crown jewel so to speak. You see, OTP is the abbreviation of ‘One True Pairing’ – meaning the one couple that is your favorite of them all. In some groups the word is used as their favorite in that specific fandom – and that they can have one OTP in ‘Naruto’ and one in ‘Bleach’. Others, however, are set on that this title can only belong to one pairing – “one pairing to rule them all”.

OTPW:

Okay, so now I know what OTP is, but what does the ‘W’ stand for? Well, my friend, the ‘W’ stands for ‘World’. OTPW is an expression that I’ve made and that I really prefer to the normal OTP. Why? Well, let’s just say that you’re asked about your OTP in ‘Harry Potter’. Of course I don’t know your answer, but let’s just say that you are a big fan of Harry x Ginny, BUT also of Ron x Hermione. What do you do? Do you choose?

No. That is what I say. Why should you have to love one of them more than the other? Why not both? I mean, it’s not like the two of them are intersecting with each other. If that had been the case, that you were a fan of Harry and Hermione, and of Ron and Hermione, well, then you would have a problem. However, if there are no conflicts, then why not have more of them. It will no longer be ‘best pairing’, but rather ‘the optimal world’ or ‘a utopia’. For me this opens up for including other, smaller pairings too; pairings that you enjoy, but that you might not be willing to go declare a shipping war over.

Not following? Well, I guess I can lash out with a few examples of my own. They will be sorted into fandoms, and will be marked with either ‘*’ which means that it is a favorite couple, or ‘-‘ which means that it’ just something that I added something that I find interesting.

Game of Thrones:
* Gendry (Baratheon) x Arya Stark
* Sandor Clegane (The hound) x Sansa Stark
* Jorah Mormont x Daenerys Targaryen
– Jaime Lannister x Cersei Lannister
– Samwell Tarly x Gilly

Attack on Titan:
* Levi Ackerman x Petra Ral
– Reiner Braun x Historia Reiss (Krista Lenz)
– Armin Arlert x Annie Leonhart
– Connie Springer x Sasha Blouse
– Jean Kirstein x Mikasa Ackerman

Naruto:
* Gaara x Matsuri
* Shikamaru Nara x Ino Yamanaka
* Suigetsu Houzuki x Karin Uzumaki
* Kiba Inuzuka x Hinata Hyuuga
* Neji Hyuuga x Tenten
– Minato Namikaze x Kushina Uzumaki
– Konohamaru Sarutobi x Hanabi Hyuuga
– Bolt Uzumaki x Salada Haruno
– Chouji Akimichi x Ayame

Okay? I hope that helped and that you might understand my idea of OTPW – if not totally – then at least a little. My hope is that other fans will take up this way of thinking – especially when having a big argument about a OTP – Naruto x Hinata vs Sasuke x Sakura. Why do we even have the argument? Both can live happy together – If you don’t have other pairings or feeling that interfere with that solution.

I know some of you might not agree with this, and if you do, I’d like you to post a comment and tell me why you think that. Also, if you have some information that you feel I didn’t include, do tell me^^ Oh, and questions are of course welcome as well. I rarely bite that hard^^

WinnifredArtemis

  More articles here:  
  [COMING]  
Leave a Reply

